CBNA FCCLA 2014-2015 Chapter Activities

FCCLA Members 2015 assembly

CBNA FCCLA 2015 members left to right: (back row l-r) Densi van Gerena, Nick Lounsbury, Mrs. Canfield, Shane Marshall, Austin Anderson, Sydney Fisher, Ashley Reiff, Kayla Williamson, Allison Jones, Angela Dutcher, Mrs. Morales (front row l-r) Meraya Knight, Desiree Wentworth, Jolene Levesque, Nicole Hodgdon, Callie Brochu, Lexi Arsenault

PRESS RELEASE: This year has been a very busy year for Coe-Brown Northwood Academy’s chapter of Family Career and Community Leaders of America. FCCLA, formally FHA, is the only career and technical organization that focuses on family. Student members and officers of this organization believe in the need for strong families in our society and many plan to enter into careers relating to the fields of social work, psychology, education, and culinary arts

The 2014-15 CBNA FCCLA chapter was led by a great officer team, which included: President, senior Claire Decker (Northwood); Secretary, senior Meraya Knight (Northwood); Treasurer, senior Austin Anderson (Strafford); Membership Representative, senior Debbie Peabody (Northwood); Reporter, senior Crystal Janvrin (Northwood); and Connection Team Officer, junior Kenzi Prina (Nottingham). In addition, senior Anna Jennison (Nottingham) demonstrated amazing leadership skills and dedication representing CBNA by serving as a NH FCCLA state officer as State Vice President of Community Service.

In September, CBNA FCCLA hosted the Homecoming Pancake Breakfast, which was a great success in its first year. Later in the fall, the chapter helped Meraya Knight with her Stuff-a-Bus food drive for End 68 Hours of Hunger, an organization that provides food for the weekends to local children in need. This event began a relationship between the two organizations. CBNA FCCLA has been volunteering one week per month to pack the bags for the End 68 Hours of Hunger program that serves Northwood, Nottingham and Strafford.

CBNA FCCLA was also represented in April at the NH FCCLA Spring Conference at Attitash. The following students competed at the state level and qualified to compete at the National FCCLA conference in July: seniors Claire Decker and Debbie Peabody received gold for Promote and Publicize; senior Allison Jones (Epsom) received silver in Recycle and Redesign; senior Kayla Williamson (Strafford) received silver in Teach and Train; senior Meraya Knight received silver in the category of National Programs in Action; senior Austin Anderson received silver in Life Event Planning; and juniors Jolene Levesque (Northwood), Densi van Gerena (Northwood), and Nicole Hodgdon (Strafford), received silver for State Display. All chapter members and officers who attended Spring Conference also worked extremely hard as volunteers to help the conference run smoothly and represented Coe-Brown with great pride.

With the current school year coming to a close, the following 2015-16 students were inducted on Tuesday, May 5, 2015, as the new officers for the CBNA FCCLA Chapter: Membership Representative, Densi van Gerena; Connection Team Reporter, sophomore Desiree Wentworth (Barrington); Media Coordinator, sophomore Donald MacCallum (Northwood); Activities Coordinator, junior Callie Brochu (Deerfield); Treasurer, freshman Allison Rose (Northwood); Secretary, Mackenzi Prina; Vice President, Jolene Levesque; and President, Nicole Hodgdon.

Advisors Mrs. Mandy Morales and Mrs. Toni Canfield are incredibly proud of these, and all members of the CBNA FCCLA chapter, for their many accomplishments this year. Congratulations to all.


Alumni Survey: Please Share and Complete

Every decade, Coe-Brown Academy undergoes a lengthy and thorough reaccreditation process with the New England Association of Schools and Colleges.  This year-long self-study and subsequent evaluation by other educators will allow us to grow and improve as a school community, and ensure that we are meeting our mission and goals for student success.

Part of this process involves student, parent and alumni surveys so we can get input from our CBNA community. Our target audience for the alumni survey is grads from about the last 5 years or so (recent grads). If you fit this, please complete the survey on any web browser or wireless device:

We thank you in advance for your time and effort, and your continued support of Coe-Brown Academy.

CBNA Students Participate in Congressional Art Competition

Twenty-two Coe-Brown Northwood Academy students recently participated in the 34th Annual Congressional Art Competition: An Artistic Discovery in Congresswoman Ann Kuster’s Second Congressional District. These students are: from Barrington – Abigail Ahern, Alyssa Bussiere Olivia Drew and Jamie Pratt; from Northwood – Alexa Barnes, Hannah Herter, Julie Souryavong, Lily Hunt, Sadie Sabina, Erika Grand,   Megan Leduke, Audrey Getman, Jesse Ohrenberger, Billie Pingree, Veronica Swindell and Ryu Kondrop; from Nottingham – Gage Desrosiers and Andrew Lambert and from Strafford – Alandra Beaver, Hannah Eaton, Jacquelyn Stevens and Alexander Yonchak. The exhibition, reception, and awards ceremony took place on Friday, May 1, 2015, from 6:00- 7:30 pm at the Kimball Jenkins School of Art in Concord. Based on his entries, junior Ryu Kondrup was awarded a scholarship to attend the New Hampshire Institute of Art’s Pre-College Program. Congratulations to all.

Junior Ryu Kondrup’s award winning art works:

Dragon Eye, Scratchboard

Dragon Eye, Scratchboard

Pug, Colored Pencil

Pug, Colored Pencil

CBNA FBLA Chapter Attends State Leadership Conference

CBNA FBLA Members at the State Convention: left to right Taylor Richardson, Cody Vaughn, Brittany Guillemette, Alex Yonchak, Maxim Begin, Nate Schroeder, Lauren Velleca, Meghan Percy, Nicole Beaupre, and advisor Dr. JoAnn Zylak.

CBNA FBLA Members at the State Convention: left to right Taylor Richardson, Cody Vaughn, Brittany Guillemette, Alex Yonchak, Maxim Begin, Nate Schroeder, Lauren Velleca, Meghan Percy, Nicole Beaupre, and advisor Dr. JoAnn Zylak.

Coe-Brown Northwood Academy’s Future Business Leaders of America chapter participated in the FBLA State Leadership Conference which was held at the Radisson Hotel in Manchester on March 31 and April 1, 2015. Students competed in many business related areas and received several awards and recognitions. A Chapter Award for Who’s Who in FBLA went to junior Brittany Guillemette of Strafford for her work in Breast Cancer Awareness, and the whole chapter received an Honorary Chapter Award for the number of activities they have participated in throughout the year. The Marketing Team of Brittany Guillemette, junior Nicole Beaupre of Northwood and junior Meghan Percy of Barrington received a medal for third place, and each received a $1,000 scholarship to SNHU. Other awards included an honorable mention in Introduction to Communications for freshman Nate Schroeder, of Strafford. Taylor Richardson, a senior from Strafford placed third in the state in Business Procedures and Maxim Begin, a freshman from Northwood, placed third in Business Math. Others who attended and competed were senior Alex Yonchak from Strafford in Impromptu Speaking, senior Cody Vaughn from Northwood in Client Services, and senior Lauren Velleca from Northwood in Accounting. Every student who received an award is eligible to compete in Chicago, Illinois, at the National FBLA Convention in their respective areas later this year.