CBNA Students Recieve Recognition from College Board National Programs

December 15th, 2023


Coe-Brown Northwood Academy Students Receive Recognition from the 2024 College Board National Recognition Programs

Northwood, New Hampshire…Headmaster David S. Smith of Coe-Brown Northwood Academy is pleased to announce that Evelyn Dearborn, Wilson Weygant and Stephen Perry have been named as Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship Program for their exceptional academic promise and outstanding performance on the PSAT. In addition, nine CBNA students have been awarded the National Rural and Small Town Award through the College Board National Recognition Programs, including Anna Bergeron, Rex Betts-Levine, Gavin Bungard, Claire Burbank, Evelyn Dearborn, Francesca Ferguson, Colin Kane, Somer Loto and Jayden Porter. This is the largest single group of CBNA awardees to date. Letters of recognition have been presented to these scholastically talented seniors.


Out of over 1.3 million juniors who entered the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2022 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), approximately 34,000 are named Commended Students. Dearborn, Weygant and Perry are part of this elite group who scored among the top 3% in the nation, and who are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.


The National Rural and Small Town Award is one of four awards in the National Recognition Program, which includes three others that recognize students of Hispanic, African American, or Indigenous heritage. Bergeron, Betts-Levine, Bungard, Burbank, Dearborn, Ferguson, Kane, Loto and Porter were all recognized through the National Rural and Small Town award program for being academically competitive students from a rural region that is traditionally underrepresented in the college application process. Students who may be eligible for this recognition must attend school in a rural area or small town, have a GPA of 3.5 or higher, and have excelled on the PSAT/NMSQT or earned a score of 3 or higher on two or more AP Exams.


With a wide range of interests from chorus to robotics, this record-breaking group of eleven CBNA students includes mathematicians, varsity athletes, musicians, actors, and authors who volunteer for numerous local clubs and organizations and contribute to the CBNA community on a daily basis. These students aspire to careers in psychology, medical microbiology, physical therapy, teaching, engineering, the trades, performing arts, journalism, art therapy and homeland security.


Coe-Brown Northwood Academy

Coe-Brown Northwood Academy strives to produce graduates who are academically and socially prepared to be responsible, caring and contributing members of the global society.


Founded in 1867, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy is a comprehensive secondary institution offering the highest quality curriculum of studies to the residents of Northwood, Strafford, and surrounding towns, as well as matriculated day students from further afield.  The State of New Hampshire certifies Coe-Brown Northwood Academy as a “Public Academy” with public school approval. Our educational programs and opportunities are accessible to both traditional and non-traditional learners, responsive to the diverse needs of an ever-changing community, and consistent with state and federal laws supporting the education of our youth.


The Academy offers a curriculum of studies which is consistent with these premises and the laws of the State of New Hampshire.  This curriculum, woven into a coordinated course of study, will enable all students to realize their potential and prepare them for their chosen endeavors upon graduation.  The expertise of faculty and staff permits course offerings to develop the full potential of all students, whether they be educationally advantaged or challenged.  It is then incumbent on the students to be academically diligent, consistent in attendance, and positive in attitude to successfully complete their chosen course of studies.


Coe-Brown Northwood Academy is located at 907 First NH Turnpike, in Northwood, New Hampshire, on the shores of beautiful Harvey Lake. For further information about the school, please call 603-942-5531 or visit our website at



Caption Photo #1:


“National Merit Scholarship Commended students Evelyn Dearborn, Wilson Weygant and Stephen Perry celebrate their notification of recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program.”

(l-r) W. Weygant, E. Dearborn, and S. Perry.  Photograph by Judy Loto.


Top Left Photo #2:

“Recipients of the National Rural and Small Town Award through the College Board National Recognition Programs celebrate their notification of recognition.”

(l-r) R. Betts-Levine, C. Kane, A. Bergeron, S. Loto, C. Burbank, F. Ferguson, E. Dearborn. (Missing G. Bungard and J. Porter) Photogra

ph by Judy Loto.